Six Random Things About Myself: Part five

September 29, 2008 at 3:24 pm Leave a comment

I love a good rubric. I mean, I *adore* rubrics. Give me a rubric and I melt like mozzarella. Like a hearty Scottish brogue, it makes my heart skip a beat and gives me goosebumps. Rowr.

What can I say? There’s just something about them that makes me feel so … objective. It satisfies so many of my deepest womanly needs. Things like the need for consistency and control. Logic. Organization. Clear expectations. A rubric will tell you exactly what it wants, but still leaves a little room for your own interpretation. And that, my friend, is even sexier than a checklist. I just can’t get enough.

When I volunteered to help judge the St. Patrick’s Day limerick contest at work, did I just read through the 30-odd poems and vote for the ones I liked best? No. I developed a rubric. And passed it out to the other two judges. And you know what? The winner was unanimous, receiving almost equal scores across the board. It was beautiful.

I even once bought a book of baby names — out of all the other compendiums of names that exist — because it offered a step-by-step method for choosing your favorite names, and a rubric to share with your friends and family to objectively score your list of names. There’s security in knowing that my husband and I won’t have to wrestle with one of the most crucial decisions of our lives all alone, rubricless. My life is better. Much, much better.

So imagine my elation when I discovered a rubric for analyzing the candidates’ performance during the Presidential Debate. Did I actually use it? No. But it sure made me feel good, just sitting there in front of me, begging to be used. (Find out what the experts said!)

The thing is, while watching the debate (and lots of other speeches), I heard a lot of talk about achieving “success” and “victory” in Iraq. But what I haven’t heard anyone address is that the two candidates seem to have a very different idea of what constitutes “success” or “victory.” This is the thing that keeps driving me nuts: What, exactly, defines victory? What are the indicators of success?

…Do you see where I’m headed here?!

SHOW! ME! THE RUBRIC!

Entry filed under: Head & Heart. Tags: , , , , .

A necessary sacrifice Fall in the kitchen: part one of three

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recently


