Mental vacation: Denmark

February 17, 2009 at 1:00 pm Leave a comment

It’s still winter, and although the days are getting longer (at last!), I can’t help but long to be somewhere — anywhere — I’m not. What’s a girl, homebound by money and time, to do? She travels vicariously through Flickr photostreams, that’s what. And I thought it might be nice to share with you the current object of my wanderlust: Denmark.

denmark_mosaic9099145

(By way of Big Huge Labs Mosaic Maker and Flickr.)
1. Kronborg Castle- Elsinore, Denmark – 1999, 2. Copenhagen, 3. Nyhavn in Denmark, 4. Copenhagen, 5. denmark 02, 6. Denmark, 7. Fredericia, Denmark, 8. Project: Arhus, Danmark – (Aarhus, Denmark) – Day 1., 9. Denmark – Copenhagen – Student housing 1, 10. Copenhagen July 24, 2008, 11. Fredensborg – Denmark, 12. Copenhagen, Denmark, 13. Christianshavn in Copenhagen, Denmark, 14. Copenhagen University Library, 15. Denmark Little Belt Bridge :-), 16. Cliffs on the island Møn, Denmark

What!? So it’s not a tropical beach. I can’t get over how colorful it is, how flat the landscape; is the sky as big as it is at Grandma & Grandpa’s? I’d be willing to go and find out. And the man-made aesthetic sucks me in. While I’ve always found Scandinavian design delightfully light and bright, but too stark for me, and Europe too ornate and rich (Germany too stoic), I think the Danes found a balance of them all. Light, colorful, simple, detailed.

While the other girls were longing for Paris, I could never bring myself to do the same. Now, I wouldn’t turn my nose up at a chance to go to Paris, but given the choice between Paris and Copenhagen, I choose the City of Spires. The bicycles, the red roofs, the restaurants and bars of Nyhavn (and BYOB seating on the harbor’s edge), the parks and beaches. I think it’s safe to say that, at least for now in my imagination, Copenhagen is my Paris.

Aside: Ha! Do you see what I see? Clearly I prefer photos with a strong sense of line or color, or both.

Entry filed under: Head & Heart, Travel. Tags: .

And so it begins: The Sarahthon, Vol. 2 Ask your doctor if you have a history of listlessness

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recently


